2021 Municipal Election

The Next Municipal Election is October 18, 2021

A general election for the Town of Barrhead will be held on October 18, 2021.  On this day, voters will cast their ballots to elect:
  • One (1) Mayor
  • Six (6) Councillors
The nomination period will begin January 1, 2021 and end at 12:00 pm (noon), September 20, 2021 (Nomination Day).

Candidates for Mayor

Dave McKenzie
Liam Sorenson

Candidates for Councillor

Ty Assaf
Stephen Bablitz
Shannon Harris
Dausen Kluin
Rod Klumph
Anthony Oswald
Dave Sawatzky
Don Smith
Shauna Lynn Zeldenrust

Pembina Hills School Trustee Election

Town of Barrhead residents will be voting for a School Trustee for Pembina Hills - Town of Barrhead - Ward 3 which includes Barrhead Composite, Barrhead Outreach, and Barrhead Elementary.
There is no requirement to have children in school to vote in school board elections - so long as voters meet the residency requirements, they can vote for school trustees.
To learn more about the Pembina Hills School Trustee Election, running alongside the Town of Barrhead Municipal Election, visit the Pembina Hills School Board Election website, here.

Senate Election

In addition to the 2021 Municipal Election, the Town of Barrhead will be facilitating the Provincial Senate ballot for municipal electors on October 18, 2021.
Ensure you make an informed decision when voting for up to 3 Senate Candidates on the ballot.  You can learn more about the Senate Election by visiting the Government of Alberta Elections Alberta website.  You can also find a list of the Senate Candidates and links to more information about each Candidate here.

Referendum Questions

The Town of Barrhead will also be facilitating the Provincial Referendum Questions.  Albertans will be asked two questions in the referendum vote on October 18, 2021.  Both referendum questions allow for a 'yes' vote or a 'no' vote and are binding on the provincial government, based on the majority of votes cast.

For more information on the Town of Barrhead Municipal Election, School Trustee Election, Senate Election and Referendum Questions, contact the 2021 Town of Barrhead Returning Officer:
Cheryl Callihoo