

Present

Regret

1.

2.

Others Present

Call to Order

ii)

Consideration of Agenda (additions – deletions)

AGENDA ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING OF THE BARRHEAD TOWN COUNCIL TUESDAY, OCTOBER 22, 2024 AT 5:30 P.M. IN THE TOWN OF BARRHEAD TOWN COUNCIL CHAMBERS

Barrhead....a quality community....giving a quality lifestyle

3.	Deputy Mayor Appointments for 2024 - 2025			
4.	Council Appointments to Boards, Committees and Commissions			
	(a) Standing Committees			
	(b) Representatives to Boards, Commissions and Committees			
	i) Alternate member for the Housing Strategy Committee			
	(c) Other Appointments			
5.	 Member at Large to Boards, Committees and Commissions Barrhead Public Library Terri Flemmer – appointment expires December 31, 2024 Please note: The Library Board will be submitting a recommendation in the near future. Jane Kusal – appointment expires December 31, 2025 Susan McLaren – appointment expires December 31, 2025 David Rowe – appointment expires December 31, 2025 Margaret Krikke (Neerlandia Library Society representative – appointment expires December 31, 2025 Stephan Bablitz – appointment expires December 31, 2026 Melissa Ouellette – appointment expires December 31, 2026 			

Commission. Current member is Gerry St. Pierre.

Barrhead Regional Water Commission - annual recommendation to the

- iii) Barrhead Regional Fire Services. Current member is Ross Pentney.
- iv) Municipal Planning Commission appointments expire December 31, 2024 Current members are:
 - Pia Grieg
 - Stephen Bablitz
- v) Subdivision & Development Appeal Board currently vacant
- vi) Twinning Committee annual appointments.

Current members are:

- Stephen Bablitz
- Lynn Down
- Tara Golby
- Leah Jackson
- Dennis Wilkins
- 6. Adjournment

Town of Barrhead Deputy Mayor and Committee Appointments 2024-2025

2024	Cr. Oswald	
2025	Cr. Smith	
2025	Cr. Assaf	
2025	Cr. Kluin	
2025	Cr. Klumph	
2025	Cr. Sawatzky	
	2025 2025 2025 2025 2025	2025 Cr. Smith 2025 Cr. Assaf 2025 Cr. Kluin 2025 Cr. Klumph

Regional Landfill Cr. Sawatzky and Cr. Klumph

Note: Chairperson of Standing Committees to be rotated on an annual basis, unless determined otherwise by that Committee.

Representatives to Boards, Commissions & Committees			
Agricultural Society	Cr. Oswald (Alt. Cr. Kluin)		
Barrhead Accessibility Coalition	Cr. Kluin		
Barrhead Cares Coalition	Cr. Assaf (Alt. Mayor McKenzie)		
Barrhead & Area Regional Crime Coalition (BARCC)	Mayor McKenzie		
Barrhead Attraction & Retention Committee	Mayor McKenzie		
Barrhead & District Social Housing Authority	Cr. Smith		
Barrhead Regional Fire Services	Cr. Assaf and Cr. Smith (Alt. Cr. Kluin)		
Barrhead Regional Airport Committee	Mayor McKenzie and Cr. Assaf		
Barrhead Regional Water Commission	Mayor McKenzie and Cr. Smith (Alt. Cr. Oswald)		
Capital Region Assessment Services Commission	Cr. Klumph		
Chamber of Commerce	Cr. Oswald		
Community Futures Yellowhead East	Cr. Assaf (Alt. Cr. Kluin)		
Economic Development Committee	Committee of the whole		
Enhanced Policing School Resource Officer Committee	Cr. Sawatzky (Alt. Mayor McKenzie)		
Family & Community Support Services Society	Cr. Kluin and Cr. Oswald		
Housing Strategy Committee	Cr. Smith and Cr. Sawatzky		
Library Board	Cr. Klumph		
Municipal Emergency Advisory Committee	Cr. Assaf, Cr. Smith and Cr. Kluin		
Municipal Planning Commission	Cr. Assaf, Cr. Oswald and Cr. Sawatzky (Alt. Cr. Smith)		
Subdivision & Development Appeal Board	Cr. Klumph		

Yellowhead Regional Library Board Cr. Klumph (Alt. Sawatzky)

Twinning Committee

Intermunicipal Collaboration Framework Committee Mayor McKenzie and Cr. Smith (Alt. Cr. Assaf)

Cr. Klumph

Other Appointments

Assessor Mike Krim, Tanmar Consulting

Assessment Review Board Capital Regional Assessment Services Commission

(CRASC)

Assistant Director, Emergency Management Cheryl Callihoo

Auditor Wayne Ellerington, Ellerington LLP

Business Licensing Officer Cheryl Callihoo

Clerk – Assessment Review Board Capital Regional Assessment Services Commission

(CRASC)

Development Officer Cheryl Callihoo

Director Emergency Management Regional Fire Chief

Returning Officer To be reviewed by Council, at a later date

Substitute Returning Officer To be reviewed by Council, at a later date

Secretary – Municipal Planning Commission As delegated by the (CAO) or his designate

Clerk – Subdivision & Development Appeal Board (CAO) or his designate

Solicitor At the discretion of the (CAO) or his designate

Subdivision Authority Municipal Planning Services (2009) Ltd.

Note: The Mayor is ex-officio, a Member of all Boards and Committees, excluding MPC.

Regular Meetings

Regular meetings are held every second (2nd) and fourth (4th) Tuesday of the month at 5:30 p.m., in the Town of Barrhead Administration Building Council Chambers. Where a Regular meeting date falls on a holiday, the meeting will be held on the following Wednesday. There will only be one meeting held during December in each year, which will fall on the second Tuesday of that month.